Dual-Timeline Novella Review: Where Memories Await

About the Book

Title: Where Memories Await

Series: The Orchard House Bed and Breakfast Series, Book 4

Author: Heidi Chiavaroli

Genre: Dual-Timeline

Publisher: Hope Creek Publishers LLC

Publication Date: November 16, 2021

Click here to purchase a copy of this book. 

Publisher's Book Description

Can memories of old restore a forgotten love?

Camden, Maine ~ Present Day

Spunky octogenarian Priscilla Martin is a woman with many Christmas secrets. When a beloved niece tempts her to bare her wounded soul, Priscilla must decide whether to share the secret of her sister’s demise—and the reason she abandoned the man she loved in favor of a loveless marriage.

Camden, Maine ~ December, 1957

The only person Priscilla loves more than Ed Colton is her younger sister, Hazel. But when Ed is drafted and Hazel runs away to New York to be with a man she believes will make her famous, Priscilla’s plans crumble around her. Ed’s silence and Hazel’s tragic return leads Priscilla to make a choice she will forever regret.

Can revisiting long-ago memories give Priscilla what she’s longed for all these years?

This is Book 4 in The Orchard House Bed and Breakfast Series, a contemporary twist on the well-loved classic, Little Women. Readers will fall in love with the Martin family—Maggie, Josie, Lizzie, Bronson, Amie, and their mother Hannah—each trying to find their own way in the world and each discovering that love, home, and hope are closer than they appear."

My Review

Where Memories Await, by Heidi Chiavaroli, is the fourth book in The Orchard House Bed and Breakfast Series. From beginning to end, this dual-timeline novella is very special. Well-written and touching, it offers a moving story of faith, friendship, family, and second chances.

The compelling plot alternates easily between two points in time, one in the past and one in the present. These storylines find connections in scenes of family, loss, longing, friendship, hope, and redemption. Throughout the novel, the characters show themselves to be thoughtful, resilient, and determined. Their experiences and choices are interesting and thought-provoking. Though they are challenged by events that test their assumptions and threaten their dreams, their faith endures. Even when facing significant disappointment and heartbreak, their tenacity and fortitude is inspiring.


This novella is thoughtful and meaningful. The story is especially captivating as the characters find the courage to reflect on their past and open themselves to new possibilities in the present. While the characters pursue healing and restoration, themes of love and grace are explored making this story truly uplifting and memorable. 


Where Memories Await features an appealing plot, relatable characters, and important themes. It is a thoughtful story full of meaning and heart. I happily recommend this creative, inspirational novella, and I cannot wait to read the next book in this series. 


*I was given a copy of this book from the author/publisher. A review was not required. The review I have written is voluntary and contains opinions that are entirely my own.


About the Author: Heidi Chiavaroli

“Heidi Chiavaroli is a writer, runner, and grace-clinger who could spend hours exploring places that whisper of historical secrets. Her debut novel, Freedom's Ring, was a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist, a Romantic Times Top Pick, and a Booklist Top Ten Romance Debut. Her latest dual timeline novel, The Orchard House, is inspired by the lesser-known events in Louisa May Alcott's life. Heidi makes her home in Massachusetts with her husband and two sons.” --Biography from Heidi Chiavaroli’s author page on Amazon.com.

Click here to visit Heidi Chiavaroli's website


Popular posts from this blog

Historical Fiction/Time-Slip Book Review: Hidden Among the Stars

Contemporary Romance Book Review: Julia Monroe Begins Again

Historical Fiction Review: The Seamstress