Mystery/Suspense Book Review: 26 Below

About the Book

Title: 26 Below 

Series: Alaskan Cyber Hunters 

Author: Kimberley Woodhouse 

Genre: Romantic Suspense/Mystery 

Publisher:  Kregel Publications 

Release Date: April 4, 2023

Click here to purchase a copy of this novel. 

Publisher's Book Description

“In her new role as Emergency Operations Center director for Fairbanks, Alaska, Darcie Phillips prevents disasters. But none of her training can prepare her for the terror that's coming.  


As a cybersecurity specialist, Jason Myers is determined to ferret out any threats to the town he now calls home--and that includes his reckless brother and his ecoterrorist friends. 


When an old woman's wild prediction--widespread destruction as soon as the Fairbanks temperature falls to 26 below--hits national headlines, neither Darcie nor Jason sees a real risk to anything but tourism. 


Then the bodies start dropping. 


Darcie is relying on her experience and intelligence to stop a killer; Jason is relying on God to guide the way. They'll have to work together to find the truth and prevent their Alaskan town from becoming a city of nightmares. The first in a thrilling new suspense series from best-selling author Kimberley Woodhouse, 26 Below will delight fans of Lynnette Eason, Irene Hannon, and Lynn Blackburn.”

My Review

26 Below, by Kimberley Woodhouse, is the first book in the Alaskan Cyber Hunters series. Well-written in its setting, characterization, and plot, this novel is packed with mystery, suspense, action, faith, and a bit of romance. Important themes of truth, restoration, purpose, mental health, and second chances add relevancy to a gripping story that is as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.  


In 26 Below, the rugged, Alaskan setting adds elements of wild beauty and underlying danger to the story. As the story unfolds, the setting itself contributes its own array of hazards and potential problems. In addition to the setting, the compelling characters also make this book appealing. They are perceptive, courageous, and quick-thinking. With authentic motivations and relatable insecurities, they are genuinely interesting. As they work fervently to piece together a growing number of clues that are revealed through a series of dangerous events, they also search for purpose and healing within their own doubts and decisions. As their situations grow more perilous, they draw closer to the solutions they seek, as well as the second chances they desperately need. 


Page after page, 26 Below is a captivating reading experience! Ms. Woodhouse has certainly written a novel that is extremely engaging and wholly intriguing. With its indispensable setting, insightful characters, and riveting plot, it is truly a special book. I gladly recommend it, and I look forward to reading the next book in the series. 


*I was given a copy of this book by the publisher. A review was not required. The review I have written is voluntary and contains opinions that are entirely my own.


About the Author: Kimberley Woodhouse

“Kimberley Woodhouse is the best-selling and award-winning author of more than two dozen books. She is a wife, mother, author, and musician with a quick wit and positive outlook despite difficult circumstances. A popular speaker, she's shared at more than 2,000 venues across the country. Kimberley and her family's story have garnered national media attention for many years including ABC's Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, The Montel Williams Show, Discovery Health channel's Mystery ER, The Hour of Power, The Harvest Show, and over 1,000 other TV appearances and radio interviews. She lives and writes in the Poconos with her husband of thirty years.” --Biography from Kimberley Woodhouse’s author page on

Click here to visit Kimberley Woodhouse's website.


Popular posts from this blog

Historical Fiction/Time-Slip Book Review: Hidden Among the Stars

Historical Romance Book Review: To Steal a Heart

Contemporary Romance Book Review: Refining Josie